Bach Magnificat
7:30PM, Saturday, May 26, 2018
Knox United Church
838 Spadina Crescent E
Saskatoon, SK S7K 3H4
($15 – $44)
Eric Paetkau, Music Director
Allison Walmsley, soprano
Lisa Hornung, alto
Spencer McKnight, tenor
Stephanie Unverricht, bassoon
Saskatoon Symphony Chorus, Duff Warkentin, conductor

“The grandest illustration of Bach’s genius”

We end the season on a beautiful note with SSO Principal Bassoonist Stephanie Unverricht soloing with Vivaldi’s beloved e minor concerto.  We explore the world of the French baroque with Rameau’s Castor et Pollux.

Bach’s Magnificat allows the SSO to showcase the incredible work of the Saskatoon Symphony Chorus and the SSO debut of soprano Allison Walmsley, 2016 winner of the Gordon Wallis Opera Competition.

On sale August 1st, 2017.

Castor et Pollux – Jean-Philippe Rameau

Bassoon Concerto in e minor – Antonio Vivaldi


Magnificat – Johann Sebastien Bach

Allison Walmsley, soprano

Hailing from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, she completed her Bachelor’s degree in voice performance at the University of Saskatchewan, studying under Dr. Garry Gable and Kathleen Lohrenz Gable. Allison won the Gordon Wallis Opera competition and the CFMTA Young Artist competition and tour in 2014 and 2016 respectively. Recent projects include Queen of the Night in Opera Kelowna’s Die Zauberflöte,  Nanetta in Western University’s Falstaff, Emily in Opera NUOVA’s Our Town, Lucy in the U of S Music Theatre ensemble’s The Beggars Opera. Allison is now in the final year of her Masters of Music degree in performance and literature at Western University under the tutelage of soprano Jackie Short. In 2017, she will sing the role of the cat in Saskatoon Opera – School Tour’s – production of The Musicians of Bremen Town, reprise the role of Queen of the Night in Western Opera’s Die Zauberflöte and perform Handel’s Messiah with the Regina Symphony Orchestra.

Castor et Pollux – Rameau – 20 mins
Orchestral selections of the opera rom 1737

Click to Listen

Concerto in e minor – Vivaldi – 12 mins

Click to Listen

Magnificat – Bach – 30 mins

Click to Listen