7:30PM, Saturday, January 15, 2022
Online Event

SSO Chamber Ensemble

January marks so many new beginnings and for the SSO Chamber Ensemble it marks a new chance to bring you a concert filled with musical warmth.

Allison Miller and Max Ostic dig into the music of Pierre-Max Dubois’ Petite Suite, while the Mistral Five Wind Quintet brings you a Saskatchewan premiere performance of Jenni Brandon’s Five Frogs!

The performance concludes with a complete performance of Johannes Brahms’ beautiful Serenade in D Major, Opus 11. A piece that served as a new beginning for Brahms, the work reflected on the death of his friend Robert Schumann and looked to a new musical future that Brahms set out to achieve.

Scroll down to read the full program or click here to download a print-at-home version.

[box]This performance will take place via live stream only on ConcertStream.tv

[button link=”https://concertstream.tv/programs/newbeginninglive”]Purchase a Digital Streaming Ticket[/button]

[button link=”https://concertstream.tv/join”]Purchase an SSO Streaming Subscription[/button]

24 hour live stream tickets for this event are priced at $19.99, $35, $50.

All live stream SSO performances are available on the SSO Streaming Subscription, $99 for the entire SSO catalogue.[/box]

The Program

New Beginnings

SSO Chamber Ensemble

Petite Suite

I. Prelude – Andante
II. Intermede – Allegro
III. Cadence – Recitativo Lentement
IV. Burlesque – Allegretto
V. Mouvement Perpetuel – Allegro

Pierre Max Dubois

Five Frogs

I. Leaping
II. On The Lily Pad
III. Swimming
IV. Bullfrog
V. Catching Bugs
VI. Epilogue

Jenni Brandon

Serenade No. 1, Op. 11

I. Allegro molto
II. Scherzo. Allegro non troppo – Trio. Poco più moto
III. Adagio non troppo
IV. Minuet 1 — Minuet 2
V. Scherzo. Allegro – Trio
VI. Rondo. Allegro

Johannes Brahms

*Order subject to change.

SSO Chamber Ensemble
Michael Swan – Concertmaster
Oxana Ossiptchouk – Principal Violin 2
James Legge – Principal Viola
Scott McKnight – Cello
Chantel Leung – Principal Bass
Allison Miller – Principal Flute
Erin Brophey – Principal Oboe
Margaret Wilson – Principal Clarinet
Maxwell Ostic – Principal Bassoon
Carol-Marie Cottin – Principal Horn

Click here to read more about your Orchestra!

Click here to learn more about our Partners.

Program Notes