SSO Remembers

This November, the SSO marks the 100th anniversary of Armistice, the end of World War One, with a series of concerts that highlight music and stories of the era.  The Great War had a significant impact on music – composers fought in the war, died in the war, lost loved ones, and saw the ravages of battle first hand.  Their music changed.  It shaped the sound of the 20th century.  And it shaped our country.

The SSO wanted to explore the music of composers effected by the war.  As well we explore music set to two great literary works from Canadian writers during the war – John McCrae’s In Flanders Fields and Stephen Leacock’s Merry Christmas.

Our SSO Chamber Ensemble will perform on November an afternoon of music in the historic Convocation Hall – entirely music composed during the war, its a fitting venue for the afternoon as the hallways are filled with tributes to the Saskatchewan soldiers who served in the Great War.

Our November 10th performance features Elgar’s heartbreaking Cello Concerto, a work he wrote after the war had ended.  In it you see a torn world drenched in pain, sorrow, and eventual triumph.  Also on the program is Ravel’s Tombeau De Couperin, each movement dedicated to a friend lost in the battle of war.

On November 23rd and 24th we’re presenting Merry Christmas Stephen Leacock by Neil Wiesensel.  A co-production with Saskatoon Opera, this story tells the tale of Leacock himself being visited by spirits on Christmas Eve…

The Other Cleopatra
7:30PM, Saturday, September 12, 2020
Convocation Hall
Opening Night
7:30PM, Saturday, September 26, 2020
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
Jan Lisiecki Plays Grieg
7:30PM, Saturday, October 10, 2020
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
Traversees - Constantinople
7:30PM, Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Quance Theatre
Night On Bald Mountain
7:30PM, Saturday, October 24, 2020
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
La Chambre
2:00PM, Sunday, November 15, 2020
Albert Community Centre
Swan Lake
7:30PM, Saturday, November 21, 2020
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
Christmas with the SSO!
7:30PM, Saturday, December 5, 2020
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
Handel's Messiah
7:30PM, Friday, December 11, 2020
Knox United Church
Sing-Along Messiah
2:00PM, Saturday, December 12, 2020
Knox United Church
Messiah in North Battleford
2:00PM, Sunday, December 13, 2020
Dekker Centre for the Performing Arts - North Battleford
Little Ludwig
12:00AM, Sunday, January 17, 2021
Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra
Once More
2:00PM, Sunday, January 24, 2021
Convocation Hall
Postcards from the Sky
7:30PM, Saturday, January 30, 2021
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
Beauty and the Beast
7:30PM, Saturday, February 13, 2021
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
Brahms' Requiem
7:30PM, Saturday, February 27, 2021
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
On the Red Carpet
7:30PM, Saturday, March 13, 2021
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
Vibrant Colourful Light
7:30PM, Saturday, March 27, 2021
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre
Mass in B Minor
3:00PM, Sunday, April 25, 2021
St John's Cathedral
Peter and the Wolf
2:00PM, Saturday, May 1, 2021
Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra
Mothers' Day Concert
2:00PM, Sunday, May 9, 2021
Convocation Hall
Coming Home
7:30PM, Saturday, May 15, 2021
TCU Place, Sid Buckwold Theatre

Leave a Comment