7:30PM, Friday, December 17, 2021
St John’s Cathedral
816 Spadina Crescent E
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3H4

SSO Chamber Ensemble
Aurora Voce
Carol Greyeyes, spoken word
Cynthia Dyck, spoken word

As the days are nearly at their shortest, we turn to music to bring light into the night.
The musicians of the SSO’s Chamber Ensemble bring you a unique exploration of literature and music as we journey towards lengthening days.

A mix of classical music for Christmas and chamber music that explores the ideas of winter, this concert is an intimate experience that lets us celebrate and reflect.  We’re thrilled to be joined by members of Aurora Voce, led by Maestra Jennifer Lang.

Sit in the stunning acoustics of St John’s Cathedral and soak in a night of beautiful music.

Scroll down to read the program or download a print-at-home copy here.

This concert will be approximately 70 minutes in length without intermission and will be live-streamed on ConcertStream.tv.

Purchase a Digital Streaming Ticket Purchase an SSO Streaming Subscription

24 hour live stream tickets for this event are priced at $19.99, $35, $50.

All live stream SSO performances are available on the SSO Streaming Subscription, $99 for the entire SSO catalogue.

The SSO is taking every possible measure to ensure the safety of our audience and musicians at our performances. Proof of vaccination will be required at the door, along with a valid photo ID. Click for More Info

The Program

A Winter’s Journey
Presented by Nutrien

SSO Chamber Ensemble
Aurora Voce, conductor Dr. Jennifer Lang
Carol Greyeyes, spoken word
Cynthia Dyck, spoken word

*Please hold your applause until the end of the program

December 21, Clear and five degrees
(Perfectly Still This Solstice Morning)
from Winter Morning Walks: One Hundred Postcards to Jim Harrison
Ted Kooser

Bell Carol / In Dulci Jubilo (Good Christian Men Rejoice)
Matthew Naughtin

A Winter Suite

I. Prologue
II. Dance
III. Interlude
IV. Finale

Thomas Schudel

Winter 16 from Winter
Patrick Lane

I Wonder As I Wander
Words and melody collected by John Joseph Niles
Arr. Donald A. Mills

Winter 14 from Winter
Patrick Lane

In the Bleak Midwinter
Ēriks Ešenvalds

Carol of the Drum
Traditional Czech Carol
Arr. Matthew Naughtin

January At Roblin Lake from To Paris Never Again
Al Purdy

Winter Music
Paul Suchan

Ave Maria
Charles Gounod
(Based on J.S. Bach’s Prelude in C Major, BWV 846)

Winter 5 from Winter
Patrick Lane

Meditation on the Old Czech Chorale ‘St. Wenceslas’, Op. 35a 
Josef Suk

Yes, Virginia, There is a Santa Claus
Francis Pharcellus Church

O Magnum Mysterium
Morten Lauridsen

*Order subject to change.

SSO Chamber Ensemble
Michael Swan – Concertmaster
Oxana Ossiptchouk – Principal Violin 2
James Legge – Principal Viola
John Payzant – Cello
Chantel Leung – Principal Bass
Allison Miller – Principal Flute
Erin Brophey – Principal Oboe
Margaret Wilson – Principal Clarinet
Maxwell Ostic – Principal Bassoon
Carol-Marie Cottin – Principal Horn
Sofia Mycyk – Piano

Aurora Voce, conductor Dr. Jennifer Lang

Jamie Bell
Emily Coupal
Micah Coupal
Kieran Foss
Amanda Friesen
Andrea Johnson
Daisy Ko
Jordan Kornelsen
Justin La
Cora Lamers
Matthew Praksas
Danielle Strong
Nicole Tremblay

Click here to read more about your Orchestra!

Click here to learn more about our Partners.

Program Notes