Top Menu

Author Archive | admin


The Return of James Ehnes

  There has always been something special about the way James Ehnes plays the violin.  The clarity of sound, the elegant phrasing, and his heightened attention to detail have made him a performer in a class unto himself.   James Ehnes was born in 1976 in Brandon, Manitoba, Canada. He began violin studies at the […]

Continue Reading 0

Dvorak’s 8th Symphony

Dvořák kept the typical format of a symphony in four movements, but structured them in an unusual way. All movements show a remarkable variety of themes, many of them based on Bohemian material. Occasionally the development of the themes seems like improvisation.[3] The first movement is a powerful and glowing exposition characterized by liberal use of timpani. It […]

Continue Reading 0
0 m1

5 Must Hear Concerts This Fall

Over the summer months music lovers have been coming by the office to get their season tickets for the upcoming year.  While following ticket buying trends, and listening to the excitement of our patrons, we’ve compiled a list of the concerts that are going to be remarkable musical experiences this fall! People are excited that […]

Continue Reading 0

A Call for Peace – The Armed Man

2018 marks the 100th anniversary of the Armistice, the November 11th end of the Great War.  The SSO will spend time during the year to explore the musical search and endeavour for peace. We begin our dialogue with Karl Jenkins’ The Armed Man on February 10th.   In addition to extracts from the Ordinary of […]

Continue Reading 0

Oliver’s Raven Steals the Light

At our upcoming concert featuring new Canadian music, we’re thrilled to present the narration premier of John Oliver’s the Raven Steals the Light.  The work tells the story of a smart raven bringing the world from chaos into the light.  The tale comes from the West Coast Indigenous tradition and will feature Saskatoon actor Carol Greyeyes. […]

Continue Reading 0